Thoughts, facts, and info

October 27, 2011

 

My OB/GYN is a wonderful person! She has been a gift from God in many areas. She explained to me that having cancer is a journey.  You are still you, you just have a disease that is going to take you on a journey – often with many twists and turns you’d never expect.  She is wise.
We are at the start of this journey.  I was diagnosed with breast cancer 1 week ago today, October 19th, 2011.  I am …scheduled for a lumpectomy next Tuesday, November 1, 2011. But there are some things which have happened, and which will happen, between now and then that can change that.  We’ll wait and see, and I’ll share facts as I have them.
Many of you know I lost my Mom to breast cancer. She was 47 year when she was diagnosed. I am 48. But Mom’s was much further along. And Mom was diagnosed in 1975.  My world is much more victorious when it comes to breast cancer.
God has been so real, so tangible through this (and even leading up to this). His grace has surpassed anything I ever expected.  I am so grateful I don’t have to make this journey without Him.  I’m also thankful for the wonderful family and friends He has given me. I am truly one of the most blessed women on the planet!
I do appreciate your prayers – for my health and healing, for my emotions and my spiritual walk, for my family, for the skill and wisdom of my medical professionals, and for anything else you’d like to pray for; I’ll take it all!! It’s still me … I’m ornery and I love to laugh. You can’t get my cancer from giving me a hug 🙂  And I’ll be glad to share with you the highs and lows of this experience – I know there will be both. But I also know that my Lord is very real. I’ll be most glad to share with you how He takes care of me on this journey.
Thanks for reading, and for caring.
Love, Kay
Leave a Reply

