Thoughts, facts, and info

December 29, 2011

Yesterday was my visit to the oncologist. I can honestly say I had accepted whatever path the Lord had planned for me (though obviously less excited about some than others). It was very busy at the office, so my 9:00 a.m. appointment turned into a 10:30 appointment. And then I saw the Dr. for a full 8 minutes. πŸ™‚ But in that 8 minutes he shared with me the results of my OncoDX test (the 2nd genetic test).

For me, the OncoDX should help predict my chances of getting cancer in other parts of my body. He said that he hadn’t seen any of HIS patients with OncoDX numbers this low in a really long time! My percentages fall in the 4-8% range – provided I take the aromatase inhibitor for the next 5 years [Arimidex]. It also means that, as far as we can test with today’s technology, there was NOT a genetic link to my cancer. And therefore my children (and my brother’s children) do not have an increased genetic risk of getting breast cancer. This is something I’ve prayed about for YEARS. I honestly prayed to this end before I ever had children. So, once again, God has most graciously answered one of my prayers with a resounding YES!

I am thankful that I can trust my heavenly Father with my life, and my children’s lives, whether the outcomes are humanly “happy or sad.” I’m thankful that I can rest in His love and care knowing that what He chooses for us is best for us. But I’m also genuinely thankful when the path He allows is the gentler path – or the one I selfishly asked for. I also know how much it delights me to make my children happy, and I’m reminded of that aspect of God … how much He delights in giving us good things!

Prayer requests – I am still dealing with some swelling, some pain, and continued lack of stamina (very humbling). Also, please pray that the side effects of the Arimidex are minimal (sometimes women actually go off the meds because the side effects are so severe). Thanks so much for praying! God has been so amazingly good to me. I am so thankful.

Comments on: "December 29, 2011" (2)

  1. Steffanie said:

    Thank you for sharing! What an encouragement to hear something from a fellow sister in Christ πŸ™‚ Praise the Lord for your low score. I just received mine and it is a 14. Praying for wisdom as I have been given a choice regarding chemo.

    • Oh Steffanie … you are in the borderline I was praying about. I will pray with you that God will give you clarity and peace about what course of action to take! I do understand the thoughts rattling in your head and desire to be a good steward of your body. But, even with an empathetic heart, I know that only you and the Lord can come to the right conclusion for you.
      Claiming II Timothy 1:7 for you, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”
      Please keep me posted on your Journey.

Leave a Reply

